2017 Literary Awards:Media

PEN Center USA 2017 Literary Awards

The Shape of Water screenwriters Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor will be honored Oct. 27 with the 2017 PEN Center USA Screenplay Awards.

In addition, Better Call Saul writer Thomas Schnauz will receive the Teleplay Award at the event, taking place at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel.

“I’m thrilled to be presenting Margaret Atwood with the distinct honor of the PEN Center USA’s Lifetime Achievement Award,” Richards said in a statement. “It’s fitting that the author of The Handmaid’s Tale is being honored at a time when women’s rights are under attack like never before. I look forward to celebrating Atwood’s achievements next month alongside some of the best writers of our time, and will continue to stand with Planned Parenthood patients and all women in the fights ahead.”

PEN Center USA, the West Coast center of PEN International, is pleased to announce its 2017 Literary Awards judges. The 2017 Literary Awards will be presented at the 27th Annual Literary Awards Festival at on October 27th, in Los Angeles. At the risk of burying the lede, Margaret Atwood (who is being honored with a lifetime achievement award), might just engage in amiably irascible badinage with awards host Nick Offerman, who is almost as great as she is.

Margaret Atwood has fit the work of many lifetimes into one. Author of more than 40 books and an environmental activist, she will be presented PEN Center USA’s lifetime achievement award at its annual dinner in October. 


PEN Center USA’s mission is to stimulate and maintain interest in the written word, to foster a vital literary culture, and to defend freedom of expression domestically and internationally. 

For more information on The 27th Annual Literary Awards Festival, please contact PEN Center USA at awards@penusa.org or visit LEARN MORE ABOUT THE AWARDS HERE.

PEN Center USA is supported in part by grants from the California Community Foundation, Herb Alpert Foundation, The James Irvine Foundation, Kayne Foundation, The Rosenthal Family Foundation, Dwight Stuart Youth Fund, UCLA Extension Writers' Program, The City of Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs, Los Angeles County Arts Commission, and The National Endowment for the Arts.